Self Care for Introverts

Life feels busy this month. Each week appears balanced at first glance. I have steady work, time for friends and even an art day scheduled. I’ve been checking things off the “To Do” list with great satisfaction. Perhaps I’m feeling busy because I don’t have a large block of uninterrupted time to work on a writing project I’d like to complete. Despite a writer’s retreat next week, I am still feeling busy.

Busyness: noun
1. the quality or condition of being actively and attentively engaged in work or a pastime.
2. lively but meaningless activity.

I finally realize the answer. While I’ve been taking time for various types of self care, I have not been taking time for my morning meditation. I’m an introvert. When I don’t get that block of quiet time first thing in the morning, it feels like I spend the rest of the day rushing from one task to another. I need quiet time to create a center of balance for my day.

How do you create time for yourself in the midst of busyness? Do you block out time on the calendar? Do you say no to something that drains your energy so you can do something that energizes you? Do you take time to sit in silence?

The first rule of self care is to say YES to yourself. Saying yes is a way to give yourself permission to do the things needed in order to be well. Life has a way of changing. Sometimes we need to say yes multiple times.

Silence is important for introverts. Silence creates a pause in the day which creates a still point. This stillness allows you to listen and hear your quiet inner voice that cannot be heard over the constant activity and noise of daily life. Silence allows you to become present in the moment. As the brain chatter and stream of thoughts slow down, you begin to notice what is happening within your inner landscape. The inner landscape is another term for the sensations, thoughts, feelings, images, messages or other cues that are present inside a person. Your inner landscape informs the body’s intelligent response system and intuition. This awareness or knowledge of what is happening to you on the inside is called the inner wisdom. Silence helps you listen to your inner wisdom.

Begin your day by pausing in silence. Take a few deep breaths, then allow your breathing to return to normal. Take a moment to set some intentions for the day. Taking a moment for this simple practice is helpful for introverts.
The Conscious Examen is a way to pause at the end of the day and review the events. St Ignatius of Loyola developed this form of prayer as a way to “find God in all things.” The five steps of reviewing your day include:
  1. Gratitude: When did I feel closest to God? When was I most grateful?
  2. Grace: How has God been working in me? When did I notice God’s grace?
  3. Sorrow: Where did I fail? When did I feel separated from God?
  4. Forgiveness: Reconcile my shortcomings through confession and forgiveness.
  5. Hope: Ask for God’s help and guidance for the future.
Are you creating time for silence in your daily self care routine? What are you saying YES to this week? I’ve said yes to quiet time every morning for silence and meditation.
Balance logo + icons

Published by

DW Healing Arts

On a quest for healing and wholeness.

4 thoughts on “Self Care for Introverts”

  1. Yes! Loved this. As an intro, I feel like the world is full of so so much stimuli. Reaching the “still-point” is like taking off a tight corset after a long day, like you can finally breathe freely.

    Like

  2. Daily meditation is essential for me. In the midst of a day spent focusing outward on other people’s wellbeing, meditation gives me space to turn inwards. I’ve never thought of it in relation to being an introvert before, but that makes sense.

    Like

    1. Thanks Angela. I think some people have to learn how to interact with both introversion and extroversion on a daily basis. I have to be extroverted in my work with others, but I recharge my energy with introverted ways of processing. Some days I get energy from discussing things with others while other days I need quiet time to think. My primary tendency is to be introverted, but I have learned how to interact in extroverted ways for work and social settings. I can handle that in small doses. The important thing is that we notice what we need to do each day to replenish our energy reserves.

      Like

Leave a Reply

