Missing in Action

It started with a computer crash last month. With limited internet connection via my cell phone, it was easy to leave most of the email and Facebook messages unread. My expectations for restoration did not sync with the computer guy’s time constraints, so I shifted my focus to the upcoming vacation.

The rush of packing and attending to the pre-vacation details kept me occupied for the few days before Departure Day. I took care of the necessary bills and phone calls, leaving a long list to follow up with on return.

The vacation itself was wonderful. Quality family time. An abundance of fresh tropical fruits and foods that delighted our taste buds. Floating in the pool, sipping lemonade all day long. Walking along the beach after dinner. Sleeping in or rising early to catch the sunrise at the beach. Six glorious days of rest and relaxation.

Sporadic WiFi forced us to focus on the important communication about travel plans and updates from home. And of course I had time to upload a few wedding photos with the bride and groom at the pool and on the beach, because that was why we were here. It was our turn to let the Facebook community know we were having a fun vacation in a tropical place.

I wasn’t sure if it was the heat, the food, the bus ride or the long day trip that began the slow decline. It started with a vague headache. Then a lack of appetite. The ginger ale on the plane ride home did not settle the stomach. By the time I arrived home, I barely had enough energy to unpack the car and crawl into bed.

I’ll spare you the details of the next week, other than to say I spent most of the time horizontal. Each day I had about two or three hours when I managed to run a few errands or see a few clients. Each time, I felt slightly hopeful, before sinking back into the void. Amazing what those pesky little parasites can do to a person. It makes me think twice about another trip to Mexico anytime soon.

Early this week the computer guy managed to get a working computer in place and recover my files. I have not had the energy to look at them other than to confirm they were there waiting for me. It’s been a month already, so what’s a few more weeks?

I’m gradually regaining strength. I’ve caught up with two (out of 14+) days worth of emails and eCourses. I’m giving myself permission to do this at my own pace. This post has been percolating in my head for the last few days, waiting for another burst of energy for it to move beyond thoughts to actual words on a page.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What lessons did I learn this month?

• Don’t eat the lettuce or brush your teeth with tap water in Mexico. It’s not worth it.
• I want to be less connected to technology than before this month-long hiatus.
• Take one day at a time. Better yet, take one hour at a time. One step at a time.
• Focus on the important things in life. The rest really doesn’t matter in the long run.

Time to slowly resume life.

Published by

DW Healing Arts

On a quest for healing and wholeness.

One thought on “Missing in Action”

Leave a Reply

